Image default


We have written about and interviewed them before but this time we got the chance to be the first ones listen to their new album Ex_Machina that’s come out on August 3rd and guys.. let me just say… HOW AMAZING IS THIS ALBUM?! LETS GO!!

CROSSFAITH formed in 2006 in Osaka Japan by frontman Kenta, Guitarist Kazuki and turntablist Ter. While messing around in the Karaoke Teru found out Kenta could sing in english. Soon after that their amazing drummer Tatsuya joined and three years later Hiroki joined them on bass. The boys got popular so quick that they keep touring and touring like there is no tomorrow, playing shows all over the world. This August they finally released a new album after three years of touring and occasional (very awesome) singles.

We were teased with Freedom and THE PERFECT NIGHTMARE earlier this year so there was a small hint. Then CATASTROPHE came out along with their brand new album Ex_Machina and fans have never been this happy! Here’s what the band had to say about this new gem.

“EX_MACHINA” is a concept album set in an alternative near future in which the ruling class, known as Angels, maintain their world through artificial intelligence and other technology, which dehumanizes people and effectively turns them into drones.

Frontman Kenta ‘Ken’ Koie explains: “After we released last album XENO, we were thinking about what the next theme for us is. Then we decided to put theme “Awake the individuality”. Because we’ve always trying to make new things and that’s the big part of band’s attitudes. Technology has been advancing from when I was kid, and it definitely helps the world but at the same time I feel like technology take out important process to think about individuality in exchange for convenience. This album is a grave warning for our future, I hope you guys listen to this and think about what the meaning of this album is for you and feel how you feel through this album and start something for your future”.

Label: UNFD
Releasedate: August 3rd 2018

1. Deus Ex Machina
2. Catastrophe
3. The Perfect Nightmare
4. Destroy (ft. Ho99o9)
5. Freedom (ft. Rou Reynolds from ENTER SHIKARI)
6. Make A Move
7. Lost In You
8. Wipeout
9. Milestone
10. Eden In The Rain
11. Twin Shadows
12. Daybreak
13. Faint (ft. Masato from COLDRAIN)

With their previous albums the electronic and metal seemed to be clashing slightly but it’s obvious with this album that they were able to evolve their sound and mash the two together seamlessly. Deus ex Machina, the intro to the album, tells a story about a dark future, the music much like rave with a heavy bass backdrop building up until they launch right into Catastrophy with a force that could only end up into a massive moshpit during the live shows. Heavy metal is strong in this song, aggressive screaming and a more melodious chorus before launching right back into aggressive instruments and Kenta’s awesome grunting.

Like the previous album this album also features artists from different bands like the Punk/Hiphop group Ho99o9 (also known as TRIPLE 9 DEATH KULT) in the song Destroy, Rou Reynolds from Enter Shikari in the song Freedom and Masato of japanese metal band Coldrain during the Linkin Park song Faint (which is one of my favorite LINKIN PARK songs and I love this new version!) They keep it true to the original but you can hear they did give it their own little Crossfaith spin. They even added classical instruments. I think these collaborations give the guys an extra edge and it always works out really well.

While listening to this album there is no way you can sit still. They might have had a 3 year break from releasing an album but their music didn’t suffer from it, instead it evolved. Every song has something that makes it unique and enjoyable for all kind of metal fans. Even those who don’t like grunting that much, Crossfaith has you covered.

Personal opinion
From the very first tone, the album blows me away and it makes me super excited to see them live again in PATRONAAT, Haarlem on the 11th of October. Which is a headliner show, something I really hoped for. I like the way the songs build, starting with a futuristic entrance and then blowing full into CATASTROPHE which I’m excited about to be able to mosh too along with all the other fans. Freedom, Make a Move and Lost In You must be my favourite songs on the album but then again, it’s hard to pick with an album that’s able to mash it’s songs in such a way. I’ve read a couple of reviews on this album and I full heartedly disagree with all of them, this album is awesome and I will buy it during the live if they have it with them.

All in all I give this album a 9 out of 10.
Please let us know what you think of Crossfaith’s new masterpiece!

Hear the album live!
Crossfaith will be touring Europe this autumn and Japan in December, please check out the dates below. Saetori will attend their live in PATRONAAT, Haarlem on October 11. Join us and let’s party! Buy your tickets here before it’s sold out!

Related posts

Food: Easybab Woori Bibimbap




Izanagi & Izanami